"Lords of Thunder: PC" (Updated 1/23/2022)

Started by PCEngineFX, 09/21/2007, 01:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PCEngineFX

IMG

SUMMARY
Lords of Thunder: The Return of Landis is a PC port/refit of the original TurboGrafx Super CD version of Lords of Thunder.  I have been having an itch to revisit my old PC port project for a while now and have decided to recreate the project from scratch.

Since I have no formal coding experience, I will be making this project again in Game Maker.  I know it will run better in other languages, but since I don't know any, this is the only option.  Every effort will be made to optimize the game for lower-end machines but I can't make any promises.

GRAPHICS
Graphics will be taken from the original game and enhanced slightly - the aim is to upgrade the already existing graphics but at the same time keeping the spirit of the original look and feel of the game.

LEVEL DESIGN
Layout design will also be changed not only for coding limitations but for personal preferences as well.  The ultimate goal is to recreate the entire 1st level of the game and if possible, add a few special "easter eggs" for people to find. 

SOUND/MUSIC
Sound FX will be sampled from the original hardware (in this case a TurboDuo).  As for the music, I am looking into having the stage 1 and title tracks remastered/remixed.

Feel free to post your comments & questions in this thread.  I will be posting updates here as development continues.

UPDATES
10.02.2007 - v0.1 tech-demo released (see post #19)
10.03.2007 - v0.1b graphical refinement (see post #32)
10.06.2007 - v0.2 Landis movement test (see post #37)
10.13.2007 - v0.3 Bird enemy, score/health added (see post #51)

01.23.2022 - v0.X WIP rebuilt demo with modern tools???

DOWNLOADS
https://www.pcengine-fx.com/downloads/
https://www.pcengine-fx.com/downloads/LoTTRoL_03.zip (OG 2007 build)

IMG
IMG

// Aaron Nanto | The Ultimate Resource for NEC Console Information!
Papa PCEFX 1997-2020 [Retired]
IMG