Can one make a SCSI CD-ROM work with a PCE/TG16 via expansion bus?

Started by sonicboom, 09/28/2017, 01:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sonicboom

Hi, I'm new here. Got my TG16 xmas '89 and the CDROM the following xmas...then a DUO. Then sold them all in 2006 :(

Anyway, picked up a TG16 locally and been wanting to pick up a CD system as well but.....prices and re-caps have kept me away from that I'm I'm happy enough with ME for CDs for now.

My main point/question, and I hope it is in the right place to post, is can I use any old readily available SCSI or ATA CD-ROM drive and somehow get it to be recognized by the PCE/TG16 via the 69 pin expansion bus? Seems that it can be done as NEC did it ;) I even have an NEC IDE DVD-RW drive to use.

Basically I figure, the original CD-ROM is a 1x SCSI unit right? So what's to stop anyone from figuring out the pins on the CD-ROM drive dock connector and making it work?

I'm no computer engineer but seems that you could easily pull power, the data bus, the IRQ and whatever else you need to make it work.

This would make it a non-issue if you can't find a CD-ROM system at a good price or if yours fails as it will in time.

I'm sure this has been thought of and discussed before but as I said, I'm new here.

Thanks and I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

Boom!

SignOfZeta

IMG

SignOfZeta

Btw, I hate to be the bearer of of bad news (a bad news bear, if you will) but if being able to play CDROM2 software is your goal then you aren't any closer to it than someone who doesn't have a TG-16 because all the CDROM2 options for the TG-16 are more complicated and breakage prone and expensive than Duos are. The TG-16 is a dead end, frankly.