RIP to BT Garner of MindRec.com... He passed away early 2023 from health problems. BT was one of the top PCE homebrew developers and founder of the OG Turbo List, then PCECP.com. Condolences to family and friends.
IMG
IMG
Main Menu

Turbo Grafx 16 + RAU-30 + PC Engine CD...?

Started by Cooljerk, 05/26/2013, 03:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cooljerk

I've been collecting various PC Engine models for a few months now. I just purchased an RAU-30 for my Super Grafx and intend to use it on my PC Engine CD. It won't arrive for a few weeks, but in the mean time I've been researching to see if I could use it to connect my Turbo Grafx to a PC Engine CD with the thing. Any reason why it wouldn't work? I have a Turbo Booster, but not a Turbo Booster Plus, so being able to use this thin with a US Turbo Grafx would be helpful as I'd gain file cabinet access.

Anyone care to weigh in?

Deletion

Not sure if the RAU-30 works with the TG16. If it does, you'll also need an Interface Unit (IFU) as the RAU-30 does not connect to a CD-ROM unit directly. The setup will look this:

/20120701219sgxrau30.jpg

Cooljerk

Ah yeah, I have the interface unit already. I'm going for an ultimate PC Engine setup - a Super Grafx with a CD-Rom unit and an Arcade card pro. If this winds up working with my Turbo Grafx as well, that's just the cherry on top.

I've seen a few people ask this question before, from googling and looking around the board, but I haven't seen anybody actually answer. I'm guessing these RAU-30 things aren't too popular?

CrackTiger

Quote from: Cooljerk on 05/26/2013, 05:36 PMAh yeah, I have the interface unit already. I'm going for an ultimate PC Engine setup - a Super Grafx with a CD-Rom unit and an Arcade card pro. If this winds up working with my Turbo Grafx as well, that's just the cherry on top.