@GTV reviews the Cosmic Fantasy 1-2 Switch collection by Edia, provides examples of the poor English editing/localization work. It's much worse for CF1. Rated "D" for disappointment, finding that TurboGrafx CF2 is better & while CF1's the real draw, Edia screwed it up...
Main Menu

United Amusements PCE/TG16 JAMMA Unit - Info and pictures

Started by BlueBMW, 12/07/2011, 01:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BlueBMW

The threads concerning this unit are sparse and scattered, so I decided to start up a single thread detailing everything I know about this unit.  Having just acquired it, I am still learning its ins and outs.

Apparently in the late 80s, the company United Amusements produced these "Turbo Grafx 16" arcade units.  They were designed to be retrofitted into an existing cabinet and allowed an arcade operator to run Turbo Grafx 16 games in an arcade coin op setup.  I'm not sure how many of these units were built, nor do I know how many still exist today.  I speculate that at least 100 maybe even a few thousand of these were produced, though I have no information to back this up.  They dont look to be prototype quality, but on the flip side we don't see too many of them out there, so they must be pretty uncommon.  The serial numbers on the units and Warranty cards dont seem to give much indication on production numbers either.

Ok now about the unit...

/PCEJamma8.jpg

The unit is mounted on plate that can be mounted in an arcade cabinet like any other PCB.  Its not a particularly large unit.  It consists of three main parts, the PC engine, the interface board and the harness.

/pcejamma2.jpg