TurboDuo - 1 second of audio then cut to silence (Hu and CD)

Started by ZenicReverie, 07/12/2018, 01:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZenicReverie

Nearly 2 years ago I went through a successful full cap replacement on my TurboDuo: https://www.pcengine-fx.com/forums/index.php?topic=21541.msg473529#msg473529

That was followed by happily playing through about 5 games, 4 CD and 1 Hu, over the next year with only a minor stereo issue that I could bypass by adjusting the A/V cable into a different position. I didn't bother to resolder the DIN as I didn't want to disturb a working system any more than I had to. The system has been sitting on a shelf unpowered since then until today when I plugged it in to play a CD game, and noticed there was no sound (again). I tried a Hu-card game, and noted there is initially full audio for about a second before it cuts out completely (tested 5+ times, confirmed each time).

I'm still quite new to troubleshooting audio issues on a console like this, so I'm looking for ideas on how to determine where the fault lies. I have a multi-meter, but aside from an obvious burnt or leaking cap I'm not sure how to determine if any of them have gone bad. I won't have time to open it up and attempt this until the weekend. Any ideas or guidance is welcomed. Will follow-up on Saturday.

Keith Courage

Sounds like bad traces around the 4558 op amp right next to the AV jack. There should be 3.8V going to these two pins on it. If there is not then there is either a bad trace or old cap goop underneath the op amp that needs to be cleaned out.  I like to remove the op amp, clean, then reinstall.
IMG

Oh, I just had one more thought. Might be a bad trace for the ground on the op amp as well. The grounding pin (if looking at the photo I posted) is on the bottom row farthest to the right.

ZenicReverie