RIP to BT Garner of MindRec.com... He passed away early 2023 from health problems. BT was one of the top PCE homebrew developers and founder of the OG Turbo List, then PCECP.com. Condolences to family and friends.
IMG
IMG
Main Menu

Basic Switch Guide

Started by termis, 01/15/2007, 01:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

termis

Okay, so after seeing MH's basic soldering guide, I thought this would also be helpful to those who might wanna try their hand at modding. 

Here are the four common switches that you'll find in your local radio shack or whatnot.  All this stuff is self-taught for me, so please feel free to correct me if I'm horribly wrong somewhere.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

1. SPST - Single Pole, Single Throw.
Will have 2 contact points on the switch.
+-----+
|     |
+-----+
 |   |
 1   2

When in "on" position, it will connect what's on contacts 1 and 2.
When in "off" position, it will disconnect the what's on contacts 1 and 2.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

2. DPST - Double Pole, Single Throw
Will have 4 contact points on the switch.
This is essentially the same as having 2 SPST switches, controlled by a single switch.

1   2
 |   |
+-----+
|     |
+-----+
 |   |
 3   4

When in "on" position, it will connect what's on contacts 1 with 2; and 3 with 4.
when in "off" position, everything will be disconnected with each other.

3. SPDT - Single Pole, Double Throw.
Will have 3 contact points on the switch.
+-----+
|     |
+-----+
 | | |
 1 2 3

"on-on" SPDT switches will have 2 possible positions on the switch.
Flip the switch to one side, and it will connect what's on contacts 1 and 2.
Flip the switch to the other side, and it will connect what's on contacts 2 and 3.